Presidency of the EU Council

All EU Member States hold the Presidency of the EU Council for six months according to the EU Presidency Calendar and chair all configurations of the Council (except for the Foreign Affairs Council which has the Permanent President) and preparatory working groups’ meetings. For example, the Minister of Finance of the Presidency chairs meetings of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN). The Presidency also represents the Council in relations with other EU institutions and third countries.

Lithuania held the Presidency of the EU Council from July to December 2013.

Slovenia is currently holding the Presidency of the EU Council.

Last updated: 12-11-2023